Added: 26 January 2014

Glory (Swe / Sthlm)

Glory (Swe / Sthlm)
Band Info
AOR / Melodic Hard Rock / Melodic Metal
Sweden (


1985 - ca 1998
Göran Edman - Vocals (Glory, Swedish Metal Aid, Lion's Share (guest), Von Rosen (guest), Fortune (guest), Alien (guest), Madison, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Snake Charmer, Reingold, Headless, Jayce Landberg, Richard Andersson, Shadrane, Signum Regis, Time Requiem, XsavioR, Johansson, Mårran, Vindictiv, Brazen Abbot, Karmakanic, Vinnie Vincent Invasion, John Norum, Kharma, Street Talk, Stratosphere, Covered Call, Docker's Guild, Jayce Landberg, Crossfade, Nikolo Kotzev, Benny Jansson, Corin & Edman, GEFF, The Poodles (guest), Heed (guest), Ignition (guest), AOR (guest), Silent Call (guest), Little Chris (guest), Flintstens Med Stanley (guest), Talisman (guest), Swedish Erotica (guest), Vitalij Kuprij (guest), Iron Mansk (guest), Gutter Sirens (guest), United (guest), Voices of Rock (guest), Crash The System (guest), Arthur Falcone' Stargazer (guest), David Mark Pearce (guest), Nergard (guest), The Theander Expression (guest), Mägo de Oz (guest))

Jan "Granwick" Granvik - Guitar (Grave, Glory North, Neptune, Jan Granwick, Clockwise, Benz, Small, Fat'n Beautiful)

Johan Granström - Bass

Jonas Östman - Drums, Guitar  (Gotham City, Mogg, Dark Illusion, Mental Hippie Blood, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Skintrade, Gemini Souls)

Mats Olausson - Keyboards  (Norden Light, Mentzer, Biscaya, Lion's Share, Destiny, Camera, Silver Mountain, Nadir, Von Rosen (guest), Tommy Tysper and the Kids (guest), Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Motvind, Iron Mask, Ark, MVP, Evil Masquerade, Stygia, Kamelot, Baltimoore, Tykoon, Eclipse, Bam Bam Boys, The Reign of Terror)
Former / Past Members
Reine "Ray Alex" Alexandersson - Vocals (Neptune, JAR, West End, Warreins, Mark Tysper)

Peter "Ericson" Eriksson - Vocals (Target, Future)

Anders "Andy" Loos - Bass (Lion's Share, Dust, Tykoon, Katmandu)

Chris Goldsmith - Bass (Sorl, Damage Done, Dreams Fall, Full Strike, Crawley)

Svante Henrysson - Bass (Brazen Abbott, Yngwie J. Malmsteen)

Mats "Matt Driver" Förare - Drums (Neptune, Glory North)

Morgan Ågren - Drums (Kaipa, Steve Vai, Cabazz, Fläskkvartetten, Agamon, Denny Walley, Fredrik Thordendal's Special Defects, Spoonman, Glenn Hughes, Tony Iommi, Terry Bozzio, Mike Keneally, Frank Zappa, Dweezil & Ahmet Zappa, Simon Steensland, Freddie Wadling, Jimmy Ågren, Mats Öberg, Mats/Morgan Band, The Hot Rats)

Jonas Sandkvist - Keyboards
Biography (from Janne Stark's Encyclopedia)
Jan, who was born in Kiruna, recorded a single with the band GRAVE in 1984. He and drummer Mats "Matt Driver" Förare then recorded several demos with the band NEPTUNE, which became GLORY NORTH, fronted by GLORY BELL'S BAND singer Göran "Glory" Nordh, later replaced by Pelle Saether (UNCHAINED, ZEELION, ZEELO, GRAND DESIGN etc), who recorded an album that was never released because the label went bust. In 1985 GLORY was a reality. The first recording constellation featured Jan, Matt, singer Reine "Ray Alex" Alexandersson (ex-WARREINS, NEPTUNE etc), keyboardist Jonas Sandkvist and bassist Anders Loos, but it only lasted for one single. Before the debut album Ray Alex was sacked and the new singer was Peter Ericson. Jonas was out of the band on the second album. In 1990 Granvik released a solo-single and started working on a solo-album, which never happened. Mats had to quit because of hearing problems. Now former MADISON/MALMSTEEN singer Göran Edman joined the band and the album 'Positive Buoyant' was a mix of instrumental guitar music, classical guitar and hard-edged AOR. Some of the material was actually written for Jan's solo-album. The members on this album were Göran, Jan, Anders Loos and drummer Jonas Östman (ex-GOTHAM CITY, MOGG etc). The 1994 line-up that recorded 'Crisis vs Crisis', the most complex and well-written album in the bands history, featured Göran, Jan, Mats, bassist Svante Henrysson and drummer Morgan Ågren. Olausson has also played with MALMSTEEN, MOTVIND and has worked as session musicion on numerous albums. Svante played with MALMSTEEN and Morgan has played with MATS & MORGAN, DWEEZIL and FRANK ZAPPA among others. On 'Wintergreen' the bass work was handled by Johan Granström and Östman was back on drums. The band sadly folded after this. Göran has since fronted various bands like KHARMA, STREET TALK, VINDICTIV, MÅRRAN etc.

Biography (from Musicmight)
Pedigree Melodic Rock act GLORY was formed in 1985 from GLORY NORTH, an act created by ex-NEPTUNE members drummer Matt Driver (real name Mats Förare) and guitarist JAN GRANWICK (a.k.a. Jan Granvik), the latter having also played with Haparanda Heavy Metal combo GRAVE. GLORY NORTH also featured ex-GLORY BELLS BAND frontman Göran Nord and guitarist Franco Santuione. An album, provisionally titled 'National Force', was recorded, but the record label went under before its release.

The first line-up of GLORY featured ex-WARREINS vocalist Ray Alex, bassist Andy Loos and keyboard player Jonas Sandkvist, although Alex quit after the debut single, 1988's 'I'm Hurt', and was replaced by Peter Ericsson. GLORY debuted in the studio with the Matt Lindfors produced four track demo in 1987 featuring 'Harmony', 'Survivor', 'Runaway' and 'Burning For You'. GLORY followed the 'I'm Hurt' single with their 'Danger In This Game' album in 1989, although 1991's '2 Forgive Is 2 Forget' found keyboard player Jonas Sandkvist no longer in the band. Japanese editions of the album, issued in 1992 on the JVC Victor label, would see the inclusion of an extra track 'Bourree'.

1993's 'Positive Buoyant' album was originally scheduled to be guitarist JAN GRANWICK's solo album and featured ex-MADISON and YNGWIE MALMSTEEN vocalist Göran Edman and former MOGG and GOTHAM CITY drummer Jonas Östman. in the group, the latter having replaced Matt Driver, who was forced to leave due to experiencing hearing problems.

Loos quit to join LION'S SHARE following the album's release whilst Östman chose to join MENTAL HIPPIE BLOOD, so 1994's 'Crisis Vs Crisis' found GLORY boasting yet another revision in its membership. The album found Edman, his former YNGWIE MALMSTEEN keyboard playing colleagues Mats Olausson and bassist Svante Henrysson with the FRANK ZAPPA associated drummer Morgen Ågren now backing up Granwick on what is considered by critics to be the band's best album.

At one point in the band's history MACBETH vocalist Pelle 'P.O.' Saether was involved, although it's unclear as to just exactly when. Saether fronted SCHIZOPHRENIC CIRCUS, an act he put together in 1993, and ZELLO.

GLORY returned in 1998 for the 'Wintergreen' album. The band comprised of Edman, Granwick, Olausson, Östman and bassist Johan Granström. Edman contributed vocals to the 1999 JOHANSSON BROTHERS album and also the debut KHARMA record in 2000.

During the summer GLORY bassist Andy Loos revealed plans to form part of an ambitious band endeavour billed as TYKOON. Included alumni would be RAINMAKER, PRISONER and RADIOACTIVE mentor TOMMY DENANDER, Lars Criss of LION'S SHARE band and vocalist Leif Sundin of MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP, GREAT KING RAT and JOHN NORUM repute.

2003 found former GLORY singer Göran Edman fronting his new act CROSSFADE. He would head up another new band in 2005, XSAVIOR for the 'Caleidoscope' album. A further Edman fronted venture was unveiled in spring 2006, GEFF being the Hard Rock construct involving guitarist Ralf Jedestedt, Also pitching in would be a rhythm section of former SILVER MOUNTAIN and SNAKE CHARMER bass player Pär Stadin and drummer Anders Johansson of HAMMERFALL and YNGWIE MALMSTEEN repute. In 2008 Edman vocalised on the JAYCE LANDBERG album 'Break The Spell'.
Related Bands
Related with above

Albums (0)
Songs (1)
V/A Compilations
List viewGrid viewDetailed view