Added: 28 November 2011

Gotham City (Swe)

Gotham City (Swe)
Band Info
Heavy Metal
Sweden (

Grubbe, Umeå

August 1981 - 1987
Photos / Videos

Anders "Zacke" Zackrisson - Vocals (Nocturnal Rites, Planet Storm, Heelm, High Tension, Born Bandit, Shade of Grey)

Mårten Edlund - Guitar (Attityder)

Michael Lundholm - Guitar (Mud & Blood, Cloon Machine, OZ, High Tension, Maple Fat, Vibrations)

Torbjörn "Tobbe" Moen - Bass (Justice, Oz, Red Fun, Silent Call, Tarmac, Creozoth)

Lars-Åke "Loke" Edström - Drums (Dog Rose, Kings Club)

Former / Past Members
Ola Ohlsson - Vocals

Thomas Pehrsson - Guitars (The Pinheads)

Erik "Hompa" Holmgren - Guitar? (Hades)

Björn-Erik Melander - Bass (Mogg, Neptune, Glory North, Marc Quee, Anthony & Melander (US), Hungry Heart (US), Bernie/Melander, Liar's Dice (US))

Jan-Olov "Janne" Persson - Bass (Notorius, Mud & Blood (guest), Grace, Maze of Time, Bad Radiator, Plankat & Klart)

Nils Granered - Bass (Attityder)

Jonas Östman - Drums (Mogg, Attityder, Glory, Dark Illusion, Mental Hippie Blood, Yngwie J. Malmsteen, Skintrade, Gemini Souls)

Frank Stenbro - Drums (Witch, Glorious Advance, Skrock, RRP, OZ, Headache)
GOTHAM CITY was formed August 1981 in the Swedish city Umeå, they released their first demo in 1981 which featured members: Ola Ohlsson - Vocals, Mårten Edlund - Guitar, Björn Erik Melander - Bass and Jonas Östman - Drums. The song "Borderline" was later included on their 'The Unknown' album with changed lyrics. Some of the other songs would also show up on the 1983 EP 'Black Writs'.

In 1982 they released the cult single 'Gotham City / Killer Angels' on Brute Force records limited to 300 copies. There is also a bootlegged versions of this 7" on clear vinyl. A year later they would put out their last recorded material with vocalist Ola Ohlsson; the EP 'Black Writs' which was recorded in February at Tonteknik Studios, engineered by Per Sorlin. Later in 1983 Ola Ohlsson leaves GOTHAM CITY and Anders Zackrisson takes over as the vocalist, a 9-track demo is recorded.

In 1984 the monster is released; their first and only full-lenght album "The Unknown". This would also be their last official release. The song "The Beast Will Burn" from the album was also featured on the compilation album 'The Great Metal Attack Part 1 (1984)'.

1985: GOTHAM CITY releases a live demo entitled "Live in Umeå", these recordings where orginally made for Swedish Radio (2/3-1985) and there where small talk with a reporter between the songs.

1986: GOTHAM CITY recorded their last demo which had only 2 tracks: "Hang on & Lost In Time", did some live gigs and also got themself a new guitarist Michael Lundholm of OZ, who also made their new "bat logo".

1987, the end of GOTHAM CITY. Sadly the band would split up this year but some of the members (Anders Zackrisson & guitarist Michael Lundholm) continued to play under the name HIGH TENSION for a while and did some live gigs. Anders later joined NOCTURNAL RITES.
V/A Compilations
List viewGrid viewDetailed view

+2 # FWOSHM 2014-01-16 14:02
Thanks to Michael Lundholm for the help with infos, live material etc.
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote
# liket 2023-10-25 19:45
Reply | Reply with quote | Quote